In memory of alumni who have recently departed – Kevin Ray Wofford ’09 (03/06/2017);  Donald Stafford ’79 (03/25/2017); Randy James Brookins ’79 (03/31/2017); Felix Martinez ’73 (04/02/2017); Roger Keith Shiflett ’72 (04/08/2017); Stephen Charles Lane ’72 (04/12/2017); Todd Borne ’81 (04/14/2917); Wendell Doyle Beene ’63 (04/22/2017); Armando Castillo Jr ’14 (04/22/2017)

A ceremony will be held at 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, April 29, to honor five students and four staff members whose names have been added to plaques in the Memorial Garden.   All family members, friends and classmates are invited.  Members of the Class of 1967, who started the original Memorial Garden and who refurbished it several years ago, will take part in the ceremony at the Downing Road site.  A reception will be held afterwards in the History Center.

The Memorial Garden recognizes all students and staff who passed away while enrolled or employed at AISD, including those leaving because of their illness.

Students whose names have been added are Marshall Monroe Jr 1975; Cynthia “Bo” Davenport 1998; Ahmad Foston 2014; Emma Aaron 2016; and Elysia Marie Balderas 2017.    Faculty and staff are maintenance worker Efrain Medrano Sr. 2014;  tutor Virginia Meredith 2014; custodianMaria Santos Vallejo DeChavez 2016; and junior high coach J. R. Wagner, 2017.

Businessman/inventor Albert Korenek ’48, musician Michael Ramos ’77 and disaster recovery organizer Jeremy Stone ’95 have been selected to be inducted as Angleton ISD Distinguished Alumni

The three will be honored at a community reception at The Pavilion on Downing Road from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 25.  All family and classmates are invited. The three will also be recognized during graduation ceremonies May 26 and will be part of a permanent display at the History Center.

John Morgan ’67
has been elected to his second term as president of the Angleton Alumni Association.   Betty Condry McAfee ’69 was elected to a new term as corresponding secretary.

Meshia Brown ‘08
honored as a young minority leader in health care.  She is chief officer of health and wellness for the 18,000 member Windsor Village Church Family in Houston and is currently working on her doctorate in health education at Texas A&M.  A nationally recognized inspirational speaker, she will be the keynote speaker at  the Texas A&M Foundation’s “Annual Women, Wealth & Wisdom Conference” on May 19.

David Winder ’92 chosen as new chairman of the board of the Brazosport Chamber of Commerce. He is Public Affairs Director for Dow Chemical Texas.

Lauren Smith ‘13,  Tori Boone ’14, and Jana Perry Herbst ’90 receiving future educator scholarships from the Gamma Eta Chapter of Alpha Delta Kappa.  All three are enrolled at UHCL.

Engineer Stratton Munson ’92 working with the United Space Alliance as an instructor at the International Space Station where he teaches astronauts and flight controllers about the system.

Gary Cotton ’69 providing photos and interviews for an article in On the Road South on Texas garage bands in the 1960s.  Gary’s brother Mike Cotton ’64 was in several local bands and he and Gary both played for The Reddlemen.

Schreiner University in Kerrville renamed their baseball field for the late Bob Henry ’57, a professor who founded the baseball program there in 1982 and coached until 1994.  Dr. Henry, a right fielder for the Wildcats’ 1956 championship team, also taught art at Schreiner.

Frontier principal Vicki Miller Harmon ’89 named a semifinalist in the 2017 H.E.B. Excellence in Education Award for Texas school principals.

The Girls of ’59 – Bette Sides Sweeny, DeDe Badgett Beyer, Martha Myrick Gustavsen, Marilyn Wyche Empting and Pat Arnold Joice – meeting in Nevada for their annual get-together.

Donations are still being accepted for Alumni Association scholarships for 2017 AHS seniors.  The Alumni Association is also working with the Thurman Green Memorial Scholarship, the Eddy Birdwell Memorial Scholarship, the Class of 1966 scholarship and the O.V. McDaniel Memorial Scholarship.

Anyone wanting to donate to any of these scholarships may do so by contacting scholarship chairman Murphy Rankin ’67 at or going online at

Recent donations have been received from Betsy Wall Bennett ’67; Kathy Birdwell; Jimmy Brashear ‘67; the Class of 1967; Sharon and Holman Gregory; Daryl Lewis ’67; Mrs. Jimmie Green; Sammy Green ’72; Ron Howell ’67; Rose Land Howell ’67; Larry DuBose ‘67  and Reba Hargrove ’61.

Kathy Haynes ’67 made a donation in memory of Charles Richardson ’64.

CLASS of 1967
–  50th anniversary from 6 p.m. to 11 p.m. on Saturday, April 29, 2017 at the Brazoria County Fairgrounds auditorium.  A reception will be held at the History Center from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. Contact

CLASS OF 1972 –  45th class reunion on August 5.  Gail Soileau is contact person.

CLASS OF 1977 –  40th anniversary on August 12, 2017 at K.C. Hall in Angleton.  $25 per person. Contact Edie Meyer or Leslie Smith Rice at

CLASS OF 1997 –  20th anniversary event planned for 6 p.m. June 10 at El Patio on Magnolia Street.

The Alumni Association is interested in promoting all class reunions.  Contact Reunion Liaison Pam Hendrick ’71 at

The History Center is open every Wednesday from noon until 5 p.m., during class reunions, for special events and programs and by request by calling Linda Winder at 979-864-6650.

Recent donations include a DVD of photos and videos of current AHS cheerleaders by Brian Corona ’95; a framed photo of former superintendent Herman Smith named Administrator of the Year by the Classroom Teachers Association in 2000; a computer tech collage by staff member Shirley Phillips; a 2006 cap and gown from Jerry Leist; and newspaper clippings of 1967 Memorial Garden project from David Hurta ‘67

Photos of History Center visitors and donations can be seen on the Angleton School History Center on Facebook.


April 28 –  AHS education students’ program at History Center

April 29 –  Memorial Garden program. 11:30 a.m.

April 29 –   Class of 1967 visit to History Center.  1-3 p.m.

May 21  –  Angleton Alumni Association meeting. History Center. 2:30 p.m.

May 25 –  Distinguished Alumni reception.  The Pavilion.  5:30-7:30

May 26  –  AHS graduation ceremonies

Sept. 30  – Good Times Reunion

Oct. 6  –   Homecoming football game

Note:  If you have additions or corrections to news items in the AAA newsletter please contact Linda Winder at  Newsletter is compiled by Linda Winder and AAA members and distributed via e-mail by membership chairman Murphy Rankin.

Comments are closed.