In memory of alumni who have recently departed – Verna Mae “Honnie” Moore – Marshall High (01/16/2017);  Lolita Wells Reed ’55(02/15/2017);  May Alyce Mitchell Johnson – Marshall High – (02/26/2017); Evelyn Bible Cox ’42 (03/01/2017); Roxanne Hardwick ’57 (03/05/2017);  Robert Nixon Jr. ’74 (03/11/2017);  Debra Land Christy ’72 (03/21/2017).

In memory of current students who have recently departed –  Elysia Marie Balderas, age 14 (03/04/2017)

Albert Korenek ’48,
Michael Ramos ’77 and Jeremy Stone ’95 have been selected to be inducted as Angleton ISD Distinguished Alumni.

Nominations are taken from the public and AISD committees make the selections.  The three will be honored at a community reception on May 25 and introduced during graduation ceremonies May 26.

Korenek is known for inventing hydraulic tree digging equipment that changed how developments were being built and has been recognized in the state and nation for his work in transplanting large trees. Millions of pieces of his patented equipment are in use around the world.

Ramos is a musician/composer/producer who has produced critically-acclaimed CDs mixing electronics and traditional instrumentation.  He has toured with John Mellencamp, Los Lonely Boys, Pat Green, Paul Simon and many others.  He owns Brown Recluse Recording Studio in Austin.  He was part of the Kris Kristofferson band that was nominated for Best Album of the Year in 2016.

Jeremy Stone is founder and executive director of a consulting firm that provides research, program design and planning series to organizations involved in disaster recovery and economic development with work around the world.  He earned his doctorate at the University of British Columbia.

Colby Gaines ’93
receiving an Emmy nomination for his show Lake Life. Colby is also one of the producers behind Pawn Stars and American Restoration.

Abby Rankin ‘15  recently completed a study abroad program in Italy as part of her College of Education, Interdisciplinary studies at Texas A&M.

The Girls of ’71 are planning a cruise to Cozamuel from April 27 to May 1.  The group meets monthly for lunch and rents a beach house every year for a weekend get-together.  All girls from 1971 are welcome to join.

Claudia Stockwell Oswald ’64 winning First Place and a National Merit Award at the Plantation Quilt Guild show.  She also got the Viewers’ Choice award for her original quilt design.

Peggy Lang Jackson ’71 named an Outstanding Community Volunteer for her work with the Ft. Bend Educational Foundation.  She has worked with fundraisers for 24 years and, as a board member since 2001, has worked in every area.

Jerikay Gayle ’71 retiring from her 16 years in municipal management for the City of Austin.  A former city manager for 25 years, she now wants to spend more time exhibiting her photography.

Ginger Peveto Hurta ’66 was the guest speaker at a recent ladies luncheon fundraiser at the First Methodist Church in Angleton.  All proceeds went to ZOE, a charity that helps orphaned children in other countries by providing them with materials to make them self-reliant.

Cleo Cannan Coleman ’47 crowned Valentine’s Day Queen of the Country Village Assisted Living group.

New Lifetime members are Tracie Copeland ’80; Mari Lyn Whisler Jones ’75; John Cochran ’67; and Rose Howell ’67.

New annual members are James DeGaugh ’67; John “Tex” Williams ’67; Sue Beaty Abshire ’67; Betsy Bennett Wall ‘67; Becky Rice Venhaus ’67; Donna Brock Norris ‘67; and Suellen Donley Turner ’67.

Memberships help support alumni events, scholarships and the History Center.   Lifetime memberships are $100 or $150 for couples.  Annual memberships are $20 each.  Find forms on the AAA website at, where you can also register and pay online.  The Alumni Association is a tax-deductible 501-C group.  Questions? Contact membership chairman Sammy Alsobrook at

After a successful Handbags and Gladrags ladies luncheon fundraiser, the Alumni Association is making plans to host a similar event every spring, possibly highlighting successful AHS graduates as speakers.  Funds are earmarked for AHS scholarships and the silent auction for purses brought in almost $1000.  Debra Morris ’72 chaired the event,                

Donations are still being accepted for Alumni Association scholarships for 2017 AHS seniors.  Special consideration is given for those with parents or grandparents who are AISD alumni.

The family of Thurman Green ’40  will offer another memorial scholarship in his name this year.

The Class of 1967 is assisting with a scholarship being offered as a memorial to Eddy Birdwell ’67.

The Class of 1966 took up donations to add to their extra reunion fund money and will use it to provide two scholarships this year.

Recent scholarship donations have been received from Dale Pitts ’58; Roland Borey ’68; Claudia Oswald ’64;  Richard Green ’67; Jackie Scott Tarter ’62; and the Charles Schwab Charity Organization.

Donations in memory of Dixie Townsend ’63 were received from Georgia Sides Bailey ’56 and Edith McDonald Fournie ‘57.

Anyone wanting to donate to any of these scholarships may do so by contacting scholarship chairman Murphy Rankin ’67 at or going online at

CLASS of 1967
–  50th anniversary from 6 p.m. to 11 p.m. on Saturday, April 29, 2017 at the Brazoria County Fairgrounds auditorium.  A reception will be held at the History Center from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. Contact

CLASS OF 1972 –  45th class reunion on August 5.  Gail Soileau is contact person.

CLASS OF 1977 –  40th anniversary on August 12, 2017 at K.C. Hall in Angleton.  Contact Edie Meyer or Leslie Smith Rice.

CLASS OF 1997 –  20th anniversary event planned for June 10

The Alumni Association is interested in promoting all class reunions.  Contact Reunion Liaison Pam Hendrick ’71 at

The AISD Education Foundation, which provides grants to teachers for innovative classroom projects, will be completing their Founders Campaign at the end of March.   Any donors who pledge $1,000 or more by March 31 will be recognized at a special Founders Wall display in the administration office. The group awarded 23 grants in November and will do another round in May.   Contact AISD Public Information officer Hanna Chalmers at 979-864-8040.

More than 50 administrative and technology staffers and school board members attended an Appreciation Lunch at the History Center Feb. 22.  Alumni board members prepared soups, sandwiches, salads and sweets.

High school students who won contests for Black History Month displays were given a field trip to the History Center March 24, where they browsed collections and were treated to a pizza lunch by Principal Jerry Crowell and homemade desserts by the Alumni Association.

Marvin Hammond ’55, who continues to actively support FFA, sent in FFA clippings and a toolbox he made in his freshman vocational agriculture class.

Other donations include a City Drug coffee mug from Patsy Clark Kelly ’67; a 1941 graduation program from Ray Pearl Condry (her uncle, J. Frank Dobie, was commencement speaker) and 1958 newspaper clippings on football from Pam Hill Massingill ’76.

The History Center is open every Wednesday from noon until 5 p.m., during class reunions, for special events and programs and by request by calling Linda Winder at 979-864-6650.

Photos of History Center visitors and donations can be seen on the Angleton School History Center on Facebook.

Note:  If you have additions or corrections to news items in the AAA newsletter please contact Linda Winder at  Newsletter is compiled by Linda Winder and AAA members and distributed via e-mail by membership chairman Murphy Rankin.

Comments are closed.