In memory of alumni who have recently departed – Mary Jane Moseman Zimmerman ’41 (01/25/2017); Ronald  Lee Turner ’75 (01/25/2017); Patti Wade Hickerson ’72 (02/02/2017); Scot Colton Stephens ’72 (02/03/2017); Vernon Smith ’74 (02/03/2017); Beth Baker Jenkins ’72 (02/08/2017); Marlene Curry Willy Danford ’52 (02/09/2017); Larry Wayne Foster ’65 (02/12/2017); Martin “Marty” Richard Martinez Sr ’73 (02/13/2017); Lavon “Dixie” Townsend Guenot ’63 (02/14/2017);  Randy Hunt ’71 (02/19/2017)

In memory of staff who have recently departed – former Northside music teacher Laverne Melbert (01/27/2017).

Nominations for the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame most be received or postmarked by 5 p.m. on Friday, February 24.   Forms are available at and at the AISD administration building.

Nominees, who must have graduated from Angleton or Marshall High 20 years ago or more, should demonstrate a high level of success in their field.   Nominations are reviewed by a committee selected by Angleton ISD and those chosen are inducted by the district in May.

Paige Worfe ‘15 
will be studying abroad in France as part of her Agribusiness studies at Texas A&M.

Matthew Hamilton ’02 completing his medical degree from Texas Tech School of Medicine and applying for a residency in psychiatry.

Dennis Bonnen ’90 named Speaker Pro Tem of the Texas House of Representatives for the third time.


New Lifetime members are  Bobbie Lee Giles ’65;  Pete Giles ’65; Martin Edwin Hester ‘58

New annual member is  John “Tex” Williams ’67.

Memberships help support alumni events, scholarships and the History Center.   Lifetime memberships are $100 or $150 for couples.  Annual memberships are $20 each.  Find forms on the AAA website at, where you can also register and pay online.  The Alumni Association is a tax-deductible 501-C group.  Questions? Contact membership chairman Sammy Alsobrook ‘69 at

The Alumni Association will host Handbags and Gladrags (a ladies’ luncheon/purse auction) at The Pavilion on Saturday, March 25.   Nancy Gayle will be the guest speaker.  Designer purses, novelty purses and vintage purses will be in a silent auction with proceeds earmarked for the Alumni Association scholarship fund.  The luncheon will be catered by Gina Matt Langinais ’82 of Gina Renee’s Catering.

Advance tickets will be required since there is limited seating.

Donations are still being accepted for Alumni Association scholarships for 2017 AHS seniors.  Special consideration is given for those with parents or grandparents who are AISD alumni and for others who have done volunteer work for the Alumni Association.

The family of Thurman Green ’40  will offer another memorial scholarship in his name this year.

The Class of 1967 is assisting with a scholarship being offered as a memorial to Eddy Birdwell ’67.

The Class of 1966 took up donations to add to their extra reunion fund money and will use it to provide a scholarship this year.

Anyone wanting to donate to any of these scholarships may do so by contacting scholarship chairman Murphy Rankin ’67 at or going online at,.

Scholarship donations have recently been received from Daryl Lewis ‘67 (Thurman Green); Reba Hargrove ‘61 (Alumni Scholarship); Kathy Birdwell (Eddie Birdwell); Jimmie Green (Thurman Green); Jim Brashear ‘67 (Eddie Birdwell); Class of ’67 (Eddie Birdwell)

CLASS of 1967
–  50th anniversary on April 29, 2017 at the Brazoria County Fairgrounds auditorium. Contact

CLASS OF 1977 –  40th anniversary on September 16, 2017 at K.C. Hall in Angleton.

The Alumni Association is interested in promoting all class reunions.  Contact Reunion Liaison Pam Hendrick ’71 at

To show their appreciation for their support of the History Center, the Alumni Association hosted a luncheon for the Maintenance Department in December and for the Administrative Staff, School Board and Technology Staff in February.  

Lola Kay Hood has donated a box of band memorabilia belonging to former band director Don Hood.  The History Center is asking for volunteers to held catalog and display band material.

Hanna Chalmers ’97 donated old yearbooks and Tattlers, Wildcat signs, a film developing tank, and a Wildcat statue from the classroom of Frances Chalmers.

Sandra Beletsky ’90 brought in pom-poms and a megaphone used by her sister Jessica Estrada ‘92, who was a cheerleader.

Terri Kiefer Stephens ’80 sent in clippings and memorabilia from elementary (Westside), junior high and high school (1977-1980) including news articles, football programs, tickets, photos, cheerleader items, spirit ribbons and pins, a 1980 class t-shirt and much, much more.

Other donations include 1993 Middle School band handbook from Linda  Englert; yearbooks from Leroy Bieri ’52;  Tattlers and programs from Phillip Bargas ’99; School Board group photos from AISD administration; and an old City Drug cup from Patsy Clark Kelly ’67. 

The History Center is open every Wednesday (except holidays)  from noon until 5 p.m., during class reunions, for special events and programs and by request by calling Linda Winder at 979-864-6650.

Photos of History Center visitors and donations can be seen on the Angleton School History Center on Facebook.

Note:  If you have additions or corrections to news items in the AAA newsletter please contact Linda Winder at  Newsletter is compiled by Linda Winder and AAA members and distributed via e-mail by membership chairman Murphy Rankin.

Comments are closed.