STUDENTS: Camaron Allan Hayes ‘13 (11/19/2017); William Timothy “Tim” Myers ‘76 (11/22/2017); Mary Jane Jamison Lewis ’70 (11/25/2017); Perry Paden “Pete” Dawson ’48(11/23/2017); Mary Martinez Pedraza ’62 (11/25/2017); Frank Trevino ’54 (11/24/2017); Mary Katherine Faickney Plummer ’38 (11/26/2017);
Paul Allen Fry ’73 (12/03/17)
In conjunction with Angleton ISD, the Angleton Alumni Association is starting a Distinguished Educator Hall of Fame to honor and recognize the outstanding and memorable retired educators who significantly impacted and made a difference in the lives of Angleton students. Nominees must have worked in education 20 years, with a minimum 10 years in AISD. Nomination forms, which will be available on the AAA website at, may be made by alumni, former co-workers or community members. They must be postmarked by March 2, 2018. The first recipients will be announced in May.

Nominations for the Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame are due to the Public Information Office at the AISD Administration Office by January 19, 2018.
Nominations are taken from the public each year and then committees made up of campus, community, and alumni members select finalists and inductees. Nominees must have graduated 20 years prior to induction and have made significant contributions in their fields. Forms are available on the Angleton ISD website under Community.

The undefeated Angleton Wildcats will play the undefeated Manvel Mavericks in the 5A State Semifinals at NRG Stadium in Houston on Friday, December 15. The Cats defeated Richmond Foster 41-10 in the regional finals last week. Thousands of Angleton fans have been traveling to cheer on the football squad, which is the second team in school history to get this far in the playoffs.

Emma Lou Vincent O’Bannon ’51 retiring after four decades as children’s librarian for the Angleton Library.
Former Angleton cheerleader Gina Dunn Mayfield ’78 is the mother of Baker Mayfield, the Oklahoma Sooners quarterback who was just named winner of the Heisman Trophy.

Food donations and school supplies for Angleton students were delivered to the school district’s distribution center on Nov. 29 by the Alumni Association. School social workers use the center to directly assist needy children in the district.
Alumni Board member Debra Morris ’72 chaired the Giving Tuesday project and collected alumni donations.

To show their appreciation for work maintenance men do for the History Center and grounds, Alumni Board members hosted a home-cooked meal for the Maintenance Department on Dec 6 – smoked brisket, grilled sausage, beans, corn casserole, stuffed jalapenos, potato salad, banana pudding, Cajun cake, pie, brownies and much, much more. “Better than Thanksgiving,” said one of the workers.

If you are not receiving the electronic newsletter and want to do so, please send an email to with your name and class year.

Memberships help support alumni events, scholarships and the History Center. Lifetime memberships are $100 or $150 for couples. Annual memberships are $20 each. Find forms on the AAA website at, where you can also register and pay online. The Alumni Association is a tax-deductible 501-C group. Questions? Contact membership chairman Sammy Alsobrook at

Dec. 19, 1910 – All Brazoria County teachers meet in Angleton to begin week-long Teachers’ Institute
Dec. 7, 1918 – School board votes that school will be dismissed one week for Christmas and that teachers will not be paid for this week on account of the time lost
during the influenza epidemic.
Dec. 4, 1923 – School paper praises PTA for providing running water and drinking fountains
Dec. 11, 1936 – Undefeated football team loses at regional playoffs, highest teams could advance at the time. This was first year for a lighted football field and start of a Drum and Bugle Corps.
Dec. 20, 1958 – Undefeated Wildcats are first Brazoria County team to play in state football finals. 1,000 Angleton tickets pre-sold and 5 charter buses travel to Waco but Cats lose to Stamford 23-0.
Dec, 2003 – Northside volunteer Dena Bryson and her Wildcat Rangers win national Keep Angleton Beautiful award and travel to Washington, D. C.

The Alumni Association is completing another successful year. In addition to opening the History Center weekly, members:
– Hosted Appreciation Lunches for Administrators and for the Maintenance Department
– Assisted with the Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame reception
– Hosted a 90th birthday party for two retired teachers
– Organized the annual Good Times Reunion for 1937-1967 graduates
– Welcomed new teachers with goodie bags and a History Center tour
– Treated retired teachers to a Yea! No School Today! brunch
– Sponsored a School Supply Drive in August and a Food Drive in November
– Held a reception for families attending the unveiling of the second phase of the Memorial Garden
– Started the first Handbags and Gladrags scholarship luncheon
– Presented six scholarships to 2017 seniors
– Donated $500 to the Angleton Education Foundation to assist with disaster relief for AISD students
-Provided centerpieces for dining area for AmeriCorps volunteers
– Hosted program, tour for the Angleton Women’s Study Forum and Angleton University
-Mailed cards to retired teachers celebrating 80+ birthdays
– Sent out monthly e-mail newsletters
– Did programs for high school students
-Assisted students, community members with research work
-Had tours, receptions for Class of 1967 and for Class of 1977
Thanks to all alumni for your generous support of these projects. Wishing you a great holiday season.

Officers are John Morgan ‘67, president; Frances Coleman Leist ‘66, vice-president; Linda Winder, secretary; Betty Condry McAfee ’69, corresponding secretary; Dana Alsobrook ‘76, treasurer and Sammy Alsobrook ’69, past president. Board members are Bette Sides Sweeny ’59, Roger Runkel ’57, Murphy Rankin ’67, Katie Jacobson Clegg ’69, Kathy Cooksey ’68, Tracy Holt Delesandri ’80, Luther Goff ’67, Jeanie Newman Gustavsen ’68, Debra Morris ’72, Bridgett Bradford Norris ’75, Isabelle Salazar ’76, Linda Roesler Fox ’67, Sue Neill, faculty, and Bill Schweinle ’59, charter member.

Dec. 20, 21 – Journalism students to visit History Center
March 3 – Handbags and Gladrags Scholarship Luncheon

Note: If you have additions or corrections to news items in the AAA newsletter please contact Linda Winder at Newsletter is compiled by Linda Winder and AAA members and distributed via e-mail by Pam Hendrick ‘71.

Comments are closed.