Angleton Alumni Association PO Box 122 Angleton, Texas 77516

Students: Tonya Jean Switzer Stansel ’81 (08/18/17); Rodney Badgett ’83 (08/28/17); LaTriska Dashe’ Hall ’07 (08/17); Christopher Wayne Journeay ’74 (09/01/17); Glen Whit Smith ’64 (08/29/17); Chad Cannon Ashworth II 11 (09/05/2017); Bob Wayne Heath ‘80 (09/12/17); Joe Donald Keeton ’67 (09/14/2017); William Jacquez Wright ’07 (09/14/2017); Kimberly Kay “KK” Collette Hall ’85 (09/16/2017); Dustin Cole McEntire ’16 (09/17/17); John Kenneth Bacon ’60 (09/18/2017); Charles Allen Rumery ‘00 (09/20/2017)

The Blast From the Past dinner and sock hop scheduled for Homecoming weekend October 7has been canceled due to Hurricane Harvey. Evacuees are using the old gym as a shelter and it is impossible to use as scheduled. Organizers plan to have the popular event next year, making it even bigger and better.

The annual Good Times Reunion is still on schedule for Saturday, Sept. 30 as there was no damage at Angleton Junior High. The event, which is open to all alumni from 1935 to 1967 and their family and friends, is hosted by the Alumni Association. Registration is at 10, with class photos from 10:30 to 12 beginning with the 1960s classes. Lunch and program from 12 to 1:30. The History Center will be open from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. $15 includes lunch and free class photo. Classes of 1947, 1957 and 1967 will be recognized. Registration form is available at and mail or online payments are available.

Concerned with the number of AISD students who were severely affected by flooding from Hurricane Harvey, the Angleton Alumni Association has donated $500 to the Angleton Education Foundation to use to provide direct help to these youngsters. Call 979-864-8000 to contact the Foundation.

We have had some major technological problems with our newsletter distribution list and you may have missed some recent issues. Hopefully, these are being resolved but please share this with classmates. Copies can be found on the Alumni Association website. If you are not receiving the electronic newsletter and want to do so, please send an email to or with your name and class year.

Members of the Class of 1957 will celebrate their 60th anniversary on Sept. 30 by attending the Good Times Reunion, touring the History Center and then meeting at Smithharts Texas Grill at 5 p.m. Guests are responsible for their own meals but dessert will be provided. RSVP to Edith McDonald Fournie at or Evelyn Rollins Dixon at

The Class of 1961 will have a mini-reunion Friday September 29 at noon at LaCasona before attending the Good Times Reunion on Saturday. The price is $20 per person which includes a fajita lunch and soft drinks. Contact Dee Grigsby at

The Alumni Association is interested in promoting all class reunions. Contact Reunion Liaison Frances Leist ’66 at

New lifetime members are Chloe Munson Taylor ’65 and Isabelle Salazar ’76. New annual member is Sherry Eberspacher Burns ’66. Memberships help support alumni events, scholarships and the History Center. Lifetime memberships are $100 or $150 for couples. Annual memberships are $20 each. Find forms on the AAA website at, where you can also register and pay online. The Alumni Association is a tax-deductible 501-C group. Questions? Contact membership chairman Sammy Alsobrook at

Gerald Nixon ’80, an administrator with Sweeny ISD, and Sweeny school board member Peggy Ellis toured the History Center recently. They are interested in starting a similar project for Sweeny schools.

The History Center is open every Wednesday from noon until 5 p.m., during class reunions, for special events and programs and by request by calling Linda Winder at 979-864-6650. Photos of History Center visitors and donations can be seen on the Angleton School History Center on Facebook.

Linda Roesler Fox of the Class of 1967 has joined the Alumni Association board. Officers are John Morgan ‘67, president; Frances Coleman Leist ‘66, vice-president; Linda Winder, secretary; Betty Condry McAfee ’69, corresponding secretary Dana Alsobrook ‘76, treasurer and past president Sammy Alsobrook ’69. Board members are Bette Sides Sweeny ’59, Roger Runkel ’57, Murphy Rankin ’67, Katie Jacobson Clegg ’69, Kathy Cooksey ’68, Tracy Holt Delesandri ’80, Luther Goff ’67, Jeanie Newman Gustavsen ’68, Debra Morris ’72, Bridgett Bradford Norris ’75, Isabelle Salazar ’76 and Sue Neill, faculty.


  • Sept. 30 – Good Times Reunion for Classes 1935 – 1967
  • Oct. 6 – Homecoming football game – Wildcats vs. Victoria East
  • Oct. 22 – October meeting of Angleton Alumni Association
  • Nov. 4 – 90th birthday celebrations for Charlotte Yoes, Marcel Davis

Comments are closed.